• Page last updated onThursday, January 27, 2022

    Department of Physics

    Innovate. Achieve. Lead.
    show more


    The Department of Physics, Birla Institute of Technology and Science Pilani, Hyderabad Campus is engaged in research and teaching in the frontier areas of theoretical and experimental Physics. The significant steps taken to enhance academic standards and eminence in higher education include innovation and improvements in curriculum, teaching-learning process, and evaluation systems.
    We are a group of internationally recognized academicians, with research expertise in the areas of fundamental as well as applied sciences, and related interdisciplinary fields. The department runs a foundation course for all undergraduate students. An integrated M.Sc. Physics course is offered with core courses and many electives that are open to other departments also. The electives are designed and tailored to align the students in the line of research done in the department.
    show more


    • Magneto-optics and Renewable Energy Laboratory (MOREL)
    • Ferroelectric materials
    • Polymer nanocomposites
    • NanoMagnetism
    • Microfluidics
    • Quantum Dot Devices
    • 经典光学
    • DNA Mutation
    • Quantum Optics
    • Quantum Metrology
    • Theoretical Particle Physics
    • 核Astrophysics
    • High Energy & Gravitational Physics
    show more

    Programs Offered

    • M.Sc. Physics
    • Ph.D Physics
    show more


    Our faculty have extensive experience in industry, research as well as teaching. Our strength is a reflection of their skills, innovation and drive.Click herefor faculty pages.


    Ph.D. Admissions (II Semester 2021-22)
    Click here for more details
    Current JRF/SRF & Other Openings

    Faculty Achievements

    1) Prof. Kannan Ramaswamy and Prof. Aravinda Raghavan have been selected by IISER-Pune to train STEM teachers in India on Research-based Pedagogical Tools as part of Newton-Bhabha programme sponsored by DBT, MHRD, IISER-Pune, and British Council.
    2) Prof. Sarmistha Banik, Dr. Rahul Nigam, and Dr. Prasant Samantray have been awarded Associateship by IUCAA, Pune.
    3) Prof. Aranya Bhuti Bhattacherjee was appointed as “German Academic Research Ambassador” at DAAD Research Ambassador Meet, 22nd September 2018, New Delhi.

    Student Achievements

    1) Mr. P.Vasihak (2012B5PS399H) was awarded Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Fellowship by Council of Scientific and industrial research (CSIR) based on his excellent performance in the CSIR-UGC JRF-NET Exam.
    2) One of our graduates, Mr. V. Harikrishnan (2010B5A3402H) had joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre after graduating from BITS Pilani Hyderabad campus. He performed exceedingly well in the one year “training school” conducted by them and received the Homi Bhabha medal for nuclear reactor physics.

    Picture gallery for physics

    Quick Links

      An Institution Deemed to be University estd. vide Sec.3 of the UGC Act,1956 under notification # F.12-23/63.U-2 of Jun 18,1964

      © 2022 Centre for Software Development,SDET Unit, BITS-Pilani, India.

      Designed and developed by分形|墨水design studios